St John Cymru awards those who have selflessly given their time

On Saturday 3rd June 2023, St John Ambulance Cymru held its annual service of Commemoration, Rededication, and Investiture in Llandaff Cathedral. The Annual Investiture Service acknowledges those who have selflessly given their time to support St John Ambulance Cymru and their local communities.

The Investiture was conducted by HRH The Duke of Gloucester, and the service marked the first year HM King Charles III has personally sanctioned admissions and promotions within the prestigious Order.

This year’s event was significant to the St John Ambulance Cymru organisation, as they welcomed their 11th Prior, Paul Griffiths OBE, KStJ. Paul Griffiths joined the Gwent St John Council in 2016, becoming its Chair the following year. His commitment to serving the communities in Wales is evident through his 29 years of public service in the police.

“I begin my tenure as Prior for Wales humbled by the selfless dedication our St John People have shown to those in need in communities across Wales.”

Paul Griffiths OBE KStJ

Paul Griffiths

The service saw the promotions of Dr Dale Cartwright, CStJ DL (pictured left below), who was promoted to Commander of the Order. Dr Cartwright joined St John Ambulance Cymru as a cadet at the age of 13.

“As a doctor, I now have the opportunity to give something back to St John in terms of the clinical skills and experiences that I can share with others. I was completely surprised to receive the news that I was being promoted to the position of Commander.”

St John Ambulance Cymru Head of Community Operations, Darren Murray (pictured above, far right with Dr Aled Davies), was also promoted to Officer at the Service.

“St John Ambulance Cymru is an important part of my life, having been a volunteer for coming up to 14 years.”

Also made Officers during the service were Kate Arnold, Richard Brake, Stephen Cook, Kathleen Eardley, Beth Francis, Mark Gordon, Ieuan Healan, and Sian Howell.

Lee Brooks QAM, Dr Aled Davies, Dr Anthony Dew, Joseph Griffiths, Rebecca Jolliffe, Carl Neale, Gavin Rees, Aron Roberts, Martin Thompson, and Marion Thompson were made Members of the Order.

If you would like to watch the 2023 Investiture Service that took place on the 3rd of June, please visit

We at St John would like to congratulate everyone who was honoured at the service. Thank you for your hard work and dedication.