9 February 2018


The Order of St John is delighted to announce the Chancellor of St John Ambulance Australia, Professor Mark Compton AM GCStJ, has been recognised by being promoted to Bailiff Grand Cross, the highest grade in the Order of St John. On 1 February 2018, Professor Mark Compton was invested by the Grand Prior of The Order of St John, HRH Prince Richard, Duke of Gloucester at Kensington Palace, London.


I am honoured and humbled by my appointment to Bailiff Grand Cross. It came as a great surprise. I’ve been so proud to be a member of St John for almost 45 years. Voluntary service is so important to the strong fabric of the Australian community and it is something that is in my blood, with 4 generations of family being St John members. I firmly believe that first aid is one of the most valuable life skills that can be taught,

said Professor Compton.


I cannot think of anyone more deserving of this promotion

 said Len Fiori, CEO of St John Ambulance Australia. 

Mark’s dedication to St John, spanning more than four decades, and his drive, leadership and commitment in ensuring that St John can meet its Australian goal of making first aid a part of everybody’s life, is second to none.


Mark is an inspiration to us all. When time permits he still volunteers for St John in an operational role at major events. In addition, he mentors developing leaders and contributes to international strategy development for St John worldwide. Mark’s strength, personality and reputation helps to make St John the first aid training organisation of choice in Australia and ensures the unparalleled level of service and care to the community.


Professor Compton was awarded the Centenary Medal of the Commonwealth of Australia for services to the community; appointed a Knight in the Order of St John (St John Ambulance) in 2004 and was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in January 2010 for services to health, hospitals, medical research and St John Ambulance.


Recognition of Professor Compton's promotion will be held at Government House, Canberra, in May 2018.



(L-R) Mrs Sara Mackintosh, Dr Maggie Burgess, Major James Kelly, Mr Patrick Burgess, Professor Mark Compton AM GCStJ, Mr Alistair Mackintosh, His Royal Highness, Prince Richard, Duke of Gloucester, MR Michael Compton, Mr Rob Millington, Miss Imogen White, Mr William Hunt, and Mr Len Fiori.