

The Most Venerable Order of the Hospital of St John of Jerusalem

Precedence within the Order

The Sovereign Head

HM Queen Elizabeth II

The Grand Prior HRH The Duke of Gloucester KG GCVO GCStJ

The Lord Prior of St John Lieutenant Colonel Sir Malcolm Ross GCVO OBE GCStJ

The Prior* of a Priory or the Knight or Dame Commander of a Commandery when within the territory of the Establishment * or Chancellor, if a Vice-Regal Priory and Prior not present

> The Prelate The Right Reverend Timothy Stevens CBE GCStJ

The Deputy Lord Prior or the Deputy Lord Priors and if more than one in the order of seniority in their Grades None currently appointed

> The Chancellor Patrick Burgess OBE GCStJ DL

> > **The Sub-Prior** John Mah GCStJ CD QC

The Former Great Officers

Former Lord Priors The Rt Hon the Lord Vestey KCVO GCStJ DL The Hon Dr Neil Conn AO GCStJ

Former Prelates The Right Reverend John Waine KCVO GCStJ The Right Reverend John Nicholls GCStJ

Former Bailiffs of Egle (appointed before 1999) The Rt Hon the Lord Remnant CVO GCStJ

Former Deputy Lord Priors John Strachan GCStJ Captain Sir Norman Lloyd-Edwards KCVO GCStJ RD

> Former Sub-Priors Professor Villis Marshall AC GCStJ Stuart Shilson LVO GCStJ

The Bailiffs and Dames Grand Cross

HRH The Princess Royal LG LT GCVO GCStJ HM The Sultan of Oman GCStJ HM Queen Noor of Jordan GCStJ The Dowager Lady Westbury CBE GCStJ JP Lady Elizabeth Godsal MBE GCStJ DL Colonel Sir James Stirling of Garden KCVO CBE GCStJ TD The Rt Hon the Baroness Emerton DBE GCStJ DL Neville Darrow GCStJ David Kingan OBE GCStJ DL John Spencer AM GCStJ Anthony Chignell MBE GCStJ Fra Matthew Festing OBE GCStJ TD DL Brigadier John Hemsley OBE GCStJ Major Ian Crowther JCD MBE GCStJ John Drexel IV GCStJ D Hugh Thomas CBE GCStJ DL F Richard Bruce MOM GCStJ Mrs Judith Hoban GCStJ Professor John Pearn AO GCStJ RFD A Marshall Acuff Jr GCStJ Dato' Dr Low Bin Tick OBE GCStJ JP

The Prior* of a Priory when outside the territory of the Priory * or Chancellor, if a Vice-Regal Priory and Prior not present

> *The Priory of England and the Islands* Surgeon Rear Admiral Lionel Jarvis CBE KStJ

The Priory of Scotland Major General Mark Strudwick CBE KStJ

The Priory for Wales Dan Clayton Jones OBE KStJ TD DL

The Priory for South Africa The Most Reverend Desmond Tutu CH KStJ

The Priory in New Zealand HE The Rt Hon Dame Patsy Reddy GNZM QSO DStJ, or Dr Steven Evans KStJ

The Priory of Canada HE The Rt Hon David Johnston CC CMM COM KStJ, or Philip Clarke KStJ

The Priory in Australia HE The Rt Hon General Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC KStJ, or Professor Mark Compton AM KStJ

> The Priory in the United States of America Palmer Hamilton KStJ

The Priory of Kenya Hon Major Marsden Madoka EGH KStJ *The Priory of Singapore* Dr Teh Peng Hooi KStJ

The Priory of Hong Kong Dr David Mok Lai Foo KStJ

The Members of the Grand Council in the order of seniority in their Grades Nicholas Woolf KStJ

The Principal Officers

The Secretary General Vice Admiral Sir Paul Lambert KCB

The Honorary Officers

The Genealogist Major William Hunt CStJ TD

The Honorary Librarian Not appointed

The Deputy Honorary Librarian Dr Alan Borg CBE KStJ

The Director of Ceremonies Major James Kelly KStJ

The Honorary Legal Counsel John Maycock CStJ

The Deputy Honorary Legal Counsel Thomas Budd OStJ

The Sub-Prelates and the Honorary Sub-Prelates

The Hospitaller Nicholas Woolf (ranks higher as a Member of the Grand Council)

Knights and Dames

Commanders

Officers

Serving Brothers and Serving Sisters

Esquires

Issued in accordance with Statute 41 of the St John Statutes 1974 to 2003.